AUTO RACING: All-Star break for Cup Series; F1 in Barcelona

Placeholder while loading article actions

Schedule: Saturday, practice (open and combined), 7 p.m., qualifications (open), 7:35 p.m.; and (all-star), 7:55 p.m.; Sunday, all-star open, 5:30 p.m.; and Star Race, 8 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 100 laps, 150 miles.

Last year: Kyle Larson won at Texas, his second All-Star win.

Last race: Kurt Busch passed Larson with eight laps to go and won at Kansas to become the 11th different winner in 13 races this year.

Fast facts: Larson’s victory last season in the no-points race came during a streak when he won four straight series main events en route to becoming the season champion. … Busch ended a 27-run winless streak at Kansas and gave 23XI its first team victory. Busch has now won Cup Series races for five different car owners and with four different manufacturers. … Chase Elliott’s lead is now 52 points over Ryan Blaney and 58 over Kyle Busch.

Next race: May 29, Concord, North Carolina.

In line:

Schedule: Friday, practice, 6 p.m. and qualifications, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 167 laps, 250.5 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch won after starting 14th.

Final Race: Justin Allgaier ended a 34-race winless streak with his second straight win at Darlington, beating teammate Noah Gragson and leading a second consecutive one-two finish for JR Motorsports.

Fast facts: AJ Allmendinger leads Gragson by 25 points in the standings in 11 races. Allmendinger also leads with 11 top 10s, but Gragson leads with 8 top fives. … Ty Gibbs is 41 points behind despite having a series-best three wins. … The top six drivers in the standings have all won at least once.

Next race: May 28, Concord, North Carolina.

In line:

Schedule: Friday, practice, 6 p.m. and qualifications, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 147 laps, 220.5 miles.

Last year: John Hunter Nemechek won from pole.

Last Race: Zane Smith led 108 of 134 laps to win at Kansas, his best third series win of the season.

Fast facts: Smith moved up to third in the points race, 21 behind Ben Rhodes and one point behind Nemechek. … Smith also leads with seven top-10 finishes and led a series-high 201 laps in eight races. … Rhodes has a win and leads with five top fives. … Ty Majeski finished second at Kansas.

Next race: May 27, Concord, North Carolina.

In line:

Hours: Friday, practice, 8 a.m. and 11 a.m.; Saturday, practice, 7 a.m. and qualifying, 10 a.m.; Sunday, race, 9 a.m. (ESPN).

Circuit: Circuit of Barcelona-Catalonia.

Race distance: 66 laps, 191.6 miles.

Last year: Lewis Hamilton won from pole.

Final race: Max Verstappen passed the two front-row Ferraris from third to first in the opening nine laps and won the series opener in Miami.

Fast facts: Verstappen’s win was his third in five races to start the season and closed the defending series champion to within 19 points of leader Charles LeClerc in the standings. … LeClerc leads all drivers with four top-three finishes. … Hamilton, a seven-time series champion, is sixth in points, 68 behind.

Next race: May 29, Monaco.

In line:

Last race: Colton Herta overcame two late pit stops and pulled away from Simon Pagenaud to win a rainy road race at Indianapolis.

Next race: May 29, Indianapolis, Indiana.

In line:

Last event: Brittany Force won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight won in Funny Car in Virginia.

Next event: June 5, Epping, New Hampshire.

In line:

Upcoming events: May 20, Attica, Ohio, and May 21, Hartford, Ohio.

In line:

More AP Auto Racing: and


Comments are closed.