Ballon d’Or: Jorginho, Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski among the nominees



Messi (left), Lewandowski (center) and Jorginho are on a 30-man list for the men’s Ballon d’Or

Jorginho of Chelsea, Lionel Messi of Paris St-Germain and Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich are on the list of finalists for the Men’s Ballon d’Or.

Messi was the 2019 winner for the sixth time, a record.

The forward won a first major international title helping Argentina win the 2021 Copa America.

Italian midfielder Jorginho helped Chelsea win the Champions League last season before winning Euro 2020 with his country this summer.

Polish striker Lewandowski won the European Golden Boot 2020-21, having scored 41 Bundesliga goals as Bayern Munich claimed the German league title last season.

Five-time Manchester United winner Cristiano Ronaldo and Real Madrid’s Luka Modric – the only players other than Messi to win the award since 2008 – are both nominated.

There are 14 Premier League players on the 2021 shortlist of 30 and five members of the European Championship winning Italian squad.

The Ballon d’Or, organized by France Football, rewards the best footballer in the world each year.

The award was not presented in 2020 – for the first time since 1956 – because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The winner of the prize will be announced on November 29 at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris.

England’s Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) and Bakayo Saka (Arsenal) are among the 10 nominees for the Kopa Trophy, which is reserved for players under the age of 21.

The Yashin Trophy is awarded to the best goalkeeper and the four Premier League players on the shortlist of 10 are Chelsea and Senegalese Edouard Mendy, Brazilian Ederson from Manchester City, Dane Kasper Schmeichel from Leicester City and Argentina Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa.

Nominated for the Ballon d’Or

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, Spain)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Leonard Bonucci (Juventus, Italy)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG, Italy)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)

Phil foden (Manchester City, England)

Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, Norway)

Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy)

Harry kane (Tottenham, England)

N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea, France)

Simon kjaer (AC Milan, Denmark)

Robert lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, Belgium)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

Kylian Mbappé (PSG, France)

Lionel messi (PSG, Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal, Spain)

Mason frame (Chelsea, England)

Neymar (PSG, Brazil)

Pedro (Barcelona, ​​Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal)

Mohamed salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Rahim sterling (Manchester City, England)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded every year by France Football since 1956, with the Englishman Stanley Matthews as the first winner.

It was reserved for European players until 1995, when it expanded to become open to any player from a European club. From 2007, it opened up to the rest of the world.

The list of 30 nominees is established by the editorial staff of the French magazine, the winner being elected by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with the Fifa awards, but they went their separate ways and the world governing body again created its own awards in 2016.

If you are viewing this page on the BBC News app please click here to vote.

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team's bannerBBC Sport banner footer



Leave A Reply