Nigeria Wafcon 2022 squad confirmation: Waldrum names Barcelona’s Oshoala and Leicester City’s Plumptre


The Spain-based striker heads a strong Super Falcons side who travel to Morocco later this month

Coach Randy Waldrum has announced his final 25-woman Nigerian squad for the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations with prominent inclusions like Asisat Oshoala, Osinachi Ohale and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie.

Houston Dash star Michelle Alozie, captain Onome Ebi and the duo of Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene as well as Nicole Payne made the cut.

The Super Falcons manager has opted for just one local professional – Gift Monday – who represents Bayelsa Queens.

The West Africans are making their 14th appearance at the African Biennale since their debut in 1991 – where they ruled Africa.

Nigeria have been crowned African champions eleven times, a record. Their last appearance was at the 2018 edition in Ghana – where they lifted the trophy.

For Morocco 2022, they have been paired in Group C alongside South Africa, Burundi and Botswana.

Waldrum Women will start their campaign against Banyana Banyana on July 4 at Stade Moulay Hassan in Rabat.

Three days later, they will try out the Mares for size before facing the Swallows on July 10.

Wafcon 2022 will also serve as Africa’s qualifier for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup – the top four teams qualifying for the global tournament scheduled for Australia and New Zealand, while two other teams qualify for the inter-confederation play-offs .

Nigeria Wafcon 2022 Squad Full

Guardians: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Toni Oyedupe Payne (FC Sevilla, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid SBB, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden)

Forwards: Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Femenil Tigers, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, ​​Spain); Gift Monday (Bayelsa Queens)

Nigeria team name for Wafcon 2022

Will the Super Falcons conquer Africa for a record 12th time in Morocco?


Comments are closed.